Georgia Hit and Run Laws

Section 40-6-270
Drivers responsible for an accident that causes personal injury, death, or vehicle damage must stop their vehicle immediately.

The responsible driver must provide his name, address, and vehicle registration number. If it is requested, the driver must show his driver’s license to the operator, occupants, or attendant of the other vehicle involved.

A reasonable amount of assistance must be provided to injured persons involved in the accident. This includes making arrangements for or transporting the injured victims to a medical or hospital facility when it is necessary. The responsible driver must stay at the accident scene until all requirements of this subsection are fulfilled.

Persons that violate the requirements of subsection (a) are considered to be guilty of a felony. Once convicted, they may be sentenced to a prison term of one to five years.

(c)(1) If a driver violates the requirements of this section or knowingly fails to immediately stop when involved in an accident that causes injuries that are not serious, or results in vehicle damage, he is considered to be guilty of a misdemeanor.

(A) Once convicted, the driver may receive a fine from $300 to $1,000, a prison term no greater than 12 months, or both. The fine is not subject to probation, stay, or suspension.

(B) If a second conviction is made within a period of five years, fines may be from $600 to $1,000, and is not subject to probation, stay, or suspension. They may also be imprisoned for a term of up to 12 months, or fines and imprisonment.

(C) If a third of subsequent conviction is made within a period of five years, fines may be $1,000, which is not subject to probation, stay, or suspension, imprisonment no greater than 12 months, or both.

Click here for excellent California Auto Injury Lawyer
. Click here to learn hit and run laws of the other 50 states.